Home  About Malawi Embassy Information Consular Services  Trade and Investment Tourism


The Immigration Office in Malawi advises that visa entry into Malawi are required by nationals of all countries except the following:-




An applicant for a visa must:

Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados,  Belgium, Belize, Brunei, Canada, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica Republic, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana,  Grenada, Guyana, Iceland, Israel , Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, United States of America, Japan, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Maldives,  Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Samoa,  (Western), San Marino, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Island, South Africa, Sri-Lanka, St. Vincent, St. Lucia, St. Kitts Nevis and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Sweden, Tanzania,  Tonga, Trinidad-Tobago, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Uganda, and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Colonies.

    i. Complete two visa application forms;
    ii. Be holder of a valid  Passport  for at least six months;
    iii. Submit travel itinerary;

Submit two passport size photos;

      Attach a letter from company/sponsor, (where required)
      and/or produce evidence of financial means to sustain
      himself/herself in Malawi;
    v. For those in Japan, pay by cash or cheque visa fees as
      follows:  Single entry (valid 30 days): 8,000 yen; and
      Multiple entry (valid 60 days): 13,000 yen.
        Further enquiry may be made to this Embassy.

A visa may be issued within four days. Passports must be sent to the Embassy by the most secure mail delivery system.  The Embassy bears no responsibility for losses of passports


The Embassy does not issue Temporary Residence Permits. The same are issued by the Immigration  Authorities in Malawi.